windpopla.blogg.se

How to get an app idea made
How to get an app idea made












And I counted that as an answered prayer. And I knew Murray would catch me and actually started feeling pretty good. Marie saw some backpackers camped out at the lake so she approached the backpackers and asked for any extra calories that they may have while I started to make my way up Dead Horse Pass. And at the next stream crossing that's what we did.Īs we made our way to Deadhorse Lake, I actually started to feel a little bit better. Later realizing that the thyroid condition I have might have played a part in that, and she offered to take the time to filter water for both of us. Marie and I discussed it and felt she had a strong impression that I should quit using iodine to purify my water. Then we slowly made our way up the next valley and over the next mountain pass, which was Red Knob Pass.Īs we came down from Red Knob Pass to Dead Horse Lake, I was still not feeling very good and our pace had slowed considerably. The tears fell, and she quickly wrapped her arms around me and said, "Let's say a prayer." She poured out our concerns to Heavenly Father and asked for blessings of mercy and strength and comfort and safety. Needless to say, at this point, Marie watched me crumble. The only option that we had was to keep moving forward. And there's no option for us to reach out and summon any help. In the Uinta wilderness, there is no cell reception. We still had three mountain passes to go up and over and about 27 miles. I was feeling very fatigued, which I just thought was altitude fatigue and a little bit of calorie deficit. You can actually see, with the light of our headlamps, a little bit of frost on the grasses of the meadows and the trees and it was pretty magical.Īs we made our way over the next couple passes, we reached about the 29, 30-mile-mark just over mid-day. And our husbands then woke up the next morning at some point and drove around to the end trailhead to wait for us. My friend Marie and I, and our two supportive husbands, drove up to China Meadows Trailhead on the north slope of the Uinta Mountains. And on August 28 of 2021, I had the chance to go dream chasing in the wilderness. I had estimated the mileage on this route to be about 55 miles. I am an ultra-runner, and an ultra-marathon is considered any distance over traditional marathon distance at 26.2 miles. There is a trail in the Uinta Mountains in Utah that has been on my bucket list for quite a number of years. Our first story comes from Heather, who despite her best plans found herself wandering in the wilderness. As you can probably guess by now, we're going to share stories about the wilderness today, both stories of physical wilderness and stories of spiritual wilderness. He has lots of really good stories, but let's move on. My brother in law, who worked on a search and rescue team in Idaho, has plenty of examples of just how ferocious and unforgiving the wilderness can be sometimes. And you can see yourself as being one of God's creations.īut I know that being in the wilderness isn't always comfortable. It's hard to describe that feeling of just connection with everything around you when you're in the wilderness. Wondering at the beauty of wild places as I hike past mountain lakes so clear, you can actually see 200 feet down to the bottom, and rivers that just take your breath away with their sheer untamed power. And not just in a trailer or some cushy motorhome but actually sleeping out under the stars. So despite my fear of bears, I actually do enjoy being out in the wilderness. But when you stay awake all night, worrying that every creak and every wrestle is a 600-pound grizzly bear looking for a little midnight snack in the form of me, in my sleeping bag, as a human burrito, it's not exactly reasonable. And I know that sounds reasonable, especially if you're going somewhere where there have been a lot of bear sightings before. As an I can't go camping in a forested area without bear proofing everything and everyone I go with. And I had to look up this word because in recent years, it's become very apparent to me and everyone who loves me that I have a severe fear of bears. But just so you know, this word means fear of bears. And yes, I had to practice saying that a million times. I'm also excited because I'm here in the booth with Erika Free, and she's making sure that this sounds good because I'm so nervous.īut if you're a word nerd like me, you have probably never heard this before: arkoudaphobia. So if you listen to the bonus episode where I sounded really crackly and sick, you can now hear my actual voice. One is that I actually have my voice back today. My name is Katie Lambert, and I'm thrilled to be hosting this episode for a couple of reasons. Welcome to This Is the Gospel, an LDS Living podcast where we feature real stories from real people who are practicing and living their faith every day.














How to get an app idea made